Only One Life

Andy Richardson
1 min readAug 16, 2022

--

“Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called” (1 Timothy 6:12).

My life as a Christian always has been motivated by the eternal.

Things of this world have not held much interest for me. I had no ambition for a grand career, or a big bank account, or fame and success. These things are all temporal. They are fleeting and empty in light of the eternal life to come. That is why the words of C.T. Studd, British missionary, stuck with me ever since I first heard them forty years ago.

Only one life, ’twill soon be past,

Only the thing done for Christ will last.

When death draws near, how happy I’ll be,

If the lamp of my life has burned out for Thee.

To serve Jesus is the greatest honor that any man or woman can ever have. Every day that we linger here in this life is an opportunity to bring the blessing of Jesus into another person’s life. It could be a word of testimony. It could be a helping hand. It could be an encouraging smile, but if it is done for Jesus as a blessing to others, then that will last forever.

This is what it means to take hold of eternal life.

--

--

Andy Richardson

pastor, business owner, contractor, sports fan, and freelance writer